Sex Machine

DSC07157With a name typical of only one brand, I’m sure you could take a guess where the lip crayon ‘Sex Machine’ is from. Alongside other unorthodox names like Orgasm, Striptease and Deep Throat, the Velvet Matte Lip Pencil in Sex Machine doesn’t stand out on the Nars make-up counter. And, to be frank with you, the colour doesn’t either. However, sometimes those simple, mauve-y pinks are the absolute staple shade and you can never get bored of them. That’s what Sex Machine is – a subtle statement.

DSC07156

Having received a Space NK bag from my friend on my birthday, I squealed with excitement. To my utmost dismay, I’ve never actually been to Space NK – it’s on the to-do list. Inside, I found the gorgeous, classic, matte-black box of a Nars product containing the Velvet Matte Lip Pencil Sex Machine. Poppy chose so well, it’s absolutely the shade I would have chosen and equally, it is the shade I’m obsessing over this season. If you read my last post, you’ll have seen my love for the KIKO lip pencil in 712; this is a similar affair. A sexy pink mauve with a hint of something shimmer is definitely a lip product you need in your collection.

DSC07158

The formula of the Velvet Matte Lip Pencils are to die for. Having such a soft texture, they seem to roll onto your lips. I would say the colour is relatively long-lasting, but I expect that it would be more so for a bolder shade? Perhaps the shade Cruella, a beautiful scarlet red, which Tanya Burr has been raving about in recent blog posts and vlogs. Overall, these lip pencils are definitely something to check out but, for £19, think about whether you want to go for a bold, statement shade or a sophisticated, calmer colour before you dive in and spend!

Mimi

X

14 thoughts on “Sex Machine

    • Hmm it is really expensive, but such a gorgeous product! Maybe try out other drugstore products similar before you take the plunge? Rimmel East End Snob is fab, as is the KIKO lip pencils! x

      Liked by 1 person

    • It is beautiful! I have so many – they’re my absolute favourite. For pinky-nudes, check out Kiko 712 and this one for lip pencils, Rimmel- East End Snob for a gorgeous liner and MAC- creme cup for lipstick or Rimmel- Asia (slightly bolder). For beautiful high-pigmented lipglosses, check out Tanya Burr’s range. I’ve got Afternoon Tea and it’s the perfect everyday pink! Hope this helps you on your hunt! Thanks for stopping by x

      Like

  1. I have this color as well… I wasn’t too excited about it at first but then I realized this is literally the shade to go to when you have to pull a ‘more enhanced’ natural lip color off. I really like it, and the formula is seriously amazing!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Exactly! And it applies so quickly – definitely a good one for on the go – no mirror needed! Yeah, I agree, the formula is beautiful! Thanks for your comment x

      Liked by 1 person

Join the discussion! x

