Halloween Lips – Snake Bite!

Hey Guys! With Halloween on Friday I thought I would mess around with my lip products to have a go at creating a couple of ‘halloween lip’ looks. I didn’t have much of a plan when I started, but as I went on I realised that I quite liked creating the ‘bitten’ sort of look whether that be a snake, vampire etc! I’ve just done very basic, easy-to-do lips that you can quickly apply before you go out – how old is too old for trick or treating? I think these lips would look great with lots of different outfits, and a smokey eye or bold winged liner.

So the first look evolved from a subtle nudge towards Halloween to a full on dark black and gold lip with dripping, black ‘blood’; I might have got a bit excited…

Plain Lip

I began by applying some of the Maybelline Colour Tattoo in On and On Bronze, just by dabbing it lightly with my ring finger all over my lip. Then I used my Rimmel Lasting Finish lipstick in 128 Starry-Eyed over the top. Again, I didn’t do this too heavely so I was left with a soft burgundy lip colour with a slightly metallic finish. I then added a little more of the cream eyeshadow over the centre portion of my lips. I think this is a really nice look for someone not all that keen to dress up properly – maybe if you’re a mum just taking your children trick or treating but don’t want to go all out with a costume?

Plain Lip + Black

To get a bolder lip with a bit more of an effect, I used a small shadow brush a patted on a dark eye shadow colour over the metallic shade on my lips. I took the darkest shade from the Revolution Iconic 3 palette, which is VERY similar to Urban Decay’s Blackheart in the Naked 3 palette, but any dark shade will do would well too.

Snake Bite

The final stage of this lip created a dark, mysterious look which I do think could be described perfectly as ‘Snake Bite’, but I have no idea why. What does everyone else think? Any other names for this look? To do this I used the same dark eye shadow and used a MAC 266 angled brush (any small brush will do), to outline my lips. I took the shadow on my upper lip also to make my Cupid’s bow appear more pointy and defined. Then, using the same shadow and brush, I took the colour down the sides of my mouth from the outer corner of my lip to give that ‘blood dripping’ look. Using the angled brush I just messed up my lower lip so it looked less neat. Finally, you guessed it, I dabbed a little more of the Colour Tattoo onto my lips.

Red and Black

The second look, (arguably the fourth too?!), I created by using a black kohl eye liner (I used the Urban Decay 24/7 glide on pencil in Perversion) as a lip liner to outline my lips. Next, I applied the Rimmel Lasting Finish lipstick in Alarm, though any red lipstick will work,  all over my lips and used the lip bullet to gently smudge out the black liner towards the centre of my lips. I would recommend you don’t use your favourite red since you won’t want to get it covered in black! Alternatively, use a lip brush to blend the colours together.  I wanted this lip to look very messy and unfinished which is why I left some of the liner slightly unblended, and was happy with having some patchy bits of the black liner. With the black smudged into the red, you create a dark purple-ish lip colour that I think would be great for a witch outfit or something similar?

Vampire Kiss

The final lip I did was a simple, vibrant red – great for a vampire look. I used Alarm all over my lips – use any red providing it ISN’T a matte lipstick. I put this on straight from the lipstick and wasn’t very careful with my application since it was to give that ‘bloody’ look anyway. I then used my MAC 266 again and took some of the product down the outer corners of my lips – just as I did with the black eye shadow. Finally, I wanted to have a ‘wet look’ lip as if the red was blood, so I applied a little water onto my lips with a brush, and then finished up with a thin layer of Vaseline to lock in the moisture and create a very shiny lip.

Collage

I would love to hear which look is your favourite and also what your plans are for Halloween – any great costume ideas?

Mimi

X

P.S. I apologise that some of photos are slightly blurred. After taking a full face shot and then cropping, the quality got a bit worse – sorry!

17 thoughts on “Halloween Lips – Snake Bite!

  1. So much fun! Like how you used all kinds of products on your lips. Halloween will be a stay at home watching Nightmare before christmas with hot chocolate and pumpkin pie.

    Liked by 1 person

      • Definitely! I’m going to save this post so I can come back to it. I didn’t go out either – a night in with a movie and popcorn is enough for me! I love experimenting with crazy looks though!x

        Like

Join the discussion! x

