August Favourites!

September is upon us and that means one thing: school. With a very busy and important year this year, I have tried to enjoy my summer as much as I can and I have been doing loads of fun things! Since August is over, I thought I could put together a quick post to talk about my monthly favourites.

All That Glitters Edited Final

MAC All That Glitters Eye Shadow

  • I purchased this early this month and I have used it almost every day since! This shadow is a gorgeous pink-toned gold colour that is full of shimmer. However, on the eye the shimmer is subtle and definitely not overpowering. I find some glitter-based shadows can look too metallic, but this certainly doesn’t. The pigmentation is perfect and there is very little fall down. It looks beautiful as an all-over-lid shade for a day look, or as a beautiful base with a darker colour through the crease for a more sophisticated evening look. A small negative is that I have found the lasting time to be a little disappointing for a MAC product. I pop a little primer underneath the shadow – problem solved.
  • To buy the single eye shadow it would make your purse £13.50 lighter – definitely not a cheap purchase. I decided to begin my own MAC quad, so I purchased the empty quad for £5 and then the eye shadow pan for £10. You get the same amount in a pan as in the pot, so I only spent £1.50 more whilst getting the palette too!

Rich and Foamous Edited

Soap & Glory Rich and Foamous

  • Ooh la la, do I smell like biscuits? – YES! This shower body wash is made with almond and honey milk, brown sugar and oats, and it smells incredible. It’s quite a strong scent, and I can see that some people might find it far too much to wash with, but I adore it. Not only does it smell good enough to eat, it leaves my skin feeling gorgeously smooth, supple and clean. It comes in a HUGE 500ml bottle and so will last you a good length of time. I previously had the Clean, Girls body wash from Soap & Glory; I bought it around Christmas time and it honestly lasted me through until July. Granted, I didn’t use it everyday (hello, a girl’s gotta have a relaxing bath some days!), but a few pumps with each use and it still lasted me almost 7 months!
  • This 500ml bottle is priced at £6.50, which is great considering it lasts such a long time. Also, if you go to Boots to get it, they have a 3 for 2 offer on all Soap & Glory products!

Rimmel Let It Go edited

Rimmel Let It Go Eye Make-Up Remover

  • Okay, so this seems like a bit of a weird thing to rave about, but I am on my second bottle of this stuff and it is a godsend! I have really sensitive skin, so the thought of a chemical that removes my make-up quickly and without water makes me a little bit nervous. Yet when I bought this, and ever since, I scrub this right on my eye lashes, eye lids and, pretty much, my eye balls and it doesn’t hurt a bit. Up until recently (since I now own the Garnier Micellar Water), if I was being really lazy, I even used this to remove my other make-up too, not just on my eyes. It’s a really gentle formula, and it removes make-up (even waterproof mascara!) really easily. Love this!
  • Depending on the shop, this is around the £3.50 mark.

Tube #1

The Body Shop All-In-One BB Cream

Sleek Palette Final

Sleek Blush By 3 in Pink Lemonade

  • This affordable palette has three highly pigmented blushers, two powders and one cream, but my particular favourite is Pink Mint – a beautiful iridescent baby pink. I was nervous to try this shade since I thought it would make me look as if I’d been attacked with glitter, but the shimmer is almost unnoticeable and brightens my skin giving it a lovely, healthy glow. The only issue with this shade is the fact that it can be a bit flaky/powdery, but for the most part I’m not bothered by this because I love the colour. The middle shade is Macaroon, and is a muted cool-toned pink with a creamy finish. It’s great applied with a stippling brush, or just your finger and leaves a really natural finish. Since it’s a cream blush, I find the staying power much better than that of a powder blush. The final shade is a warm, coral pink and is definitely a more subtle pink than the other two. It still has a little shimmer, but not as much as Pink Mint, and goes great with tanned skin – hence my love for it these summer months!
  • The packaging for this palette is sleek (very fitting!), black and compact. It is similar, though obviously cheaper, to MAC, and has a very useful mirror on the whole of the upper side. Though, just like MAC, the black packaging suffers the issue that all dirt/fingerprints show up on it (just like you can see in the photo – sorry!). A problem that I have heard other people have is that, because the cream blush is in between two powders, the powder sometimes ends up coating the cream blush which is quite annoying!
  • This palette retails for around £9.99, but for 3 full size blushers, I think this is very reasonable.

Babylips Final

Maybelline Babylips in Pink Punch

  • I’m not going to say too much about this one since I know everyone will have heard all the raving about it. I must admit, when I first got given it by my lovely friend Emily, I didn’t think much of it. Don’t get me wrong, I really wanted it  and I thought the balm was good and the price tag even better. However, in the recent Summer months I have been reaching for this product non-stop! It’s a quick way to moisturise your lips and get a pop of colour at the same time. Unfortunately, I have the original shade without SPF which is a pain, but many of the newer colours have SPF 20, which would have been fab for the summertime.
  • This is a steal at just £2.99!

I really hope you’ve enjoyed reading my favourite products this month; let me know what products you have been enjoying this month as I would love some new recommendations!

Mimi

8 thoughts on “August Favourites!

  1. Pingback: One Lovely Blog Award! | Mimi's Beauty

  2. Pingback: Empties #2 |5MF | Mimi's Beauty

Join the discussion! x

